Durham, NC repair reviews

All Reviews are from verified customers of Sears Home Services.
3.9 out of 5 stars

Sort by:
1–10 of 129 Reviews
  1. Sears appliance warranties are terrible!! No way to contact technician who did the service.

    Overall rating

    see details
    Technician was fine on washer repair, and even did a courtesy check on the dryer for lint build up. He opened up bottom panel on our Kenmore dryer to check. He must have caught something on the dryer screen when he closed it back up, and now I can’t check the dryer screen because I can’t pull it out. No paper trail to contact him. Will have to hire someone to come out and check the dryer now. Sears warranty system is the worst!!
    DURHAM, NC
    January 15, 2022
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 1 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Dear Susan, thank you for taking the time to rate your most recent service with Sears. We are sorry to hear you did not have the service experience expected. We appreciate any and all feedback from our Members and will share your experience with our service team.
    CS Offline on January 15, 2022
  2. Professional, knowledgeable, caring, personable

    Overall rating

    see details
    Outstanding technician. Everything Sears would want in an employ and everything a customer would want in a tecnician
    CHAPEL HILL, NC
    January 07, 2022
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Dear Virginia, Thank you so much for your 5-star rating! We are happy to see that you had a great experience. Thank you for your business!
    CS Offline on January 08, 2022
  3. dryer repair, controller and knob

    Overall rating

    see details
    the tech was here the first time for approx 1/2 hour. diagnosis was the controller. art ordered and appt. set 8 days later. tech arrived late in the day when appt. was set from 8-12. he took 3.5 minutes to install and then said the control knob was not good. we ordered another and will put it on ourselves. What really frosts me in the controller’s cost online is $60 and the knob is $20. i’ve been charged $382. for the techs service and paid the 20 to install the knob myself. This cost is outrageous! There should be an assessment for time, parts and service for a final billing - not a flat rate. If this were fair trade I would expect a reputable company to adjust the billing snd return a significant amount of my money.
    PITTSBORO, NC
    November 13, 2021
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Dear Al, We apologize for the difficulties your recent service has caused. We would like the opportunity to look into this to see how we can better assist. Please email us at Homeservicereviews@transformco.com and provide us with your full name, service address, and associated phone number. We look forward to hearing from you.
    CS offline on November 15, 2021
  4. Not repaired

    Overall rating

    see details
    Had the tech replace a compressor in my refrigerator. He was here approximately 2 hrs. He said it would take 24 hrs to cool. Unfortunately, the refrigerator never cooled and I’m waiting another week to have A&E service to send someone out. This has been the issue for over 2 months.
    CHAPEL HILL, NC
    November 07, 2021
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Dear John, thank you for taking the time to rate your most recent service with Sears. We are sorry to hear you did not have the service experience expected. We appreciate any and all feedback from our members and will share your experience with our Service team.
    MSO Offline on November 10, 2021
  5. Poor Service - Did Not Verify Replacement Board Worked Correctly

    Overall rating

    see details
    Technician came to replace the main board of the refrigerator. Did not try to verify that anything was working as expected, instead said that it would take 24 hours or so to get to the set temperature. Internal fans remained operational while the door was open (should have turned off); water and ice dispenser stopped working. To top it off, the tech LIED in his report saying that I had thrown away the parts and he could not replace the board (found that out when I called in yet again to complain that the refrigerator was not working as expected).
    CARY, NC
    October 16, 2021
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    We apologize for the difficulties your recent service has caused. We would like the opportunity to look into this to see how we can better assist. Please email us at {homeservicereviews@transformco.com} and provide us with your full name, service address, and associated phone number. We look forward to hearing from you.
    MSO offline on October 21, 2021
  6. Excellent Service

    Overall rating

    see details
    Excellent Service, will use again!
    APEX, NC
    September 30, 2021
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Dear Alice, We are so thrilled you had a 5-star experience. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a rating. We thank you for choosing Sears!
    MSO Offline on September 30, 2021
  7. Excellent service!

    Overall rating

    see details
    Very helpful and received good advice.
    CHAPEL HILL, NC
    July 29, 2021
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Dear Robert, Thank you so much for your 5-star rating! We are happy to see that you had a great experience. Thank you for your business!
    CS Offline on July 31, 2021
  8. Disappointing Service-Would like a Call to Discuss

    Overall rating

    see details
    Arrived 30 minutes after time promised (5 hour window) and never received a call to tell me they'd be late. Was called 10 minutes before they arrived. TWO technicians arrived; clear that one was in training and was using my machine repair for training. NEVER asked me if that was all right or even that one of the techs was in training. Repair was completed and they left; older tech never checked the job. Screw was found in the tub of the dishwasher; hinges clearly not re-installed properly EVEN THO older tech warned the younger one that needed to be done right. I have customer service questions but can only speak with someone in India or Pakistan...no help other than to reschedule an appointment 2 weeks out. I would appreciate a call to discuss this experience and the need for a follow up appointment (I called 15 times asking to speak to a rep in NC but never accommodated; even drove to Durham address for this service and you do not exist).
    DURHAM, NC
    February 06, 2021
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 3 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    We apologize for the difficulties your recent service has caused. We would like the opportunity to look into this to see how we can better assist. Please email us at HomeServiceReviews@sears.com and provide us with your full name, service address, and associated phone number. We look forward to hearing from you
    CS Offline on February 09, 2021
  9. Great home service

    Overall rating

    see details
    Scheduling was super-easy and the technician was friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. He called us well in advance of his arrival and came on time. Moreover, the technician kept his mask on and maintained covid precautions the entire visit. The repairs weren't cheap, but affordable, less than a new dryer, and a green option by keeping it out of the landfill. Really grateful for this service during the pandemic.
    CHAPEL HILL, NC
    December 25, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 1
    Report abuse
    Thank you so much for your 5-star rating! We are happy to see that you had a great experience. Thank you for your business!
    CS Offline on December 29, 2020
  10. Repair

    Overall rating

    see details
    A little difficult to get through the e-mail portion but, once there, person actually spike with was very patient and helpful. The repairman was gracious and took time to explain things. I gave him an A+. Also very patient and clear. These things are important when you are 80 years old.
    CHAPEL HILL, NC
    December 12, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Dear Therese, Thank you so much for your 5-star rating! We are happy to see that you had a great experience. Thank you for your business!
    CS offline on December 14, 2020