Columbia, MO repair reviews

All Reviews are from verified customers of Sears Home Services.
3.8 out of 5 stars

Sort by:
1–10 of 105 Reviews
  1. Frig/Freezer

    Overall rating

    see details
    I was not happy. Had to have a tech come out 3 times to do the warranty repair. I first called because the freezer didn't seem to freezing right. So the first tech came out and did a few things. He proceeded to put silicone around the freezer door. Well my freezer proceeded to have frost build up and the refrigerator temp rose to 60 degrees. I called and a second tech came out and said the first tech should not have put the silicone around the freezer door which was causing an air pocket which was affecting the temp in the frig. Well he took all that off. Needless to say I had to make a 3rd appt for a tech to come out. The third tech that came out was the same as the 2nd tech that came out. He checked the frig/freezer over again and found that the blower fan from the freezer had been turned off which means the cold air from the freezer was not blowing into the frig. Now that it has been turned back on the temp is back down where it needs to be. I hope I have no more problems with my frig/freezer.
    BOONVILLE, MO
    July 11, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  2. Terrible and incomplete service

    Overall rating

    see details
    They did not replace the broken part, said it was fine, ordered a part to ship to my house, then closed the claim saying nothing was wrong.
    COLUMBIA, MO
    July 08, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  3. Knowlegable and creative repair man

    Overall rating

    see details
    Tom was on time, diagnosed problem promptly, and made repair using existing parts which he was able to return to their original shape and made them work
    ASHLAND, MO
    June 15, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  4. Not what expected

    Overall rating

    see details
    The appointment window was from 12-4pm. The repair person arrived at around 4:05. He did not have the right part (not his fault) and did not fix the problems I called about at the visit. The part he needed was delivered to our house today and no one has reached out to tell us someone will come back. He was not exactly personable but I imagine they work the repair people to the bone. I had also called about brown streaks on my clothes and his advice was to run bleach through the machine. I was told on a previous call that they can clean the drum if you are having that issue.
    MONTGOMERY CY, MO
    May 31, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention! We would love the opportunity to take a look and see how we can help out with this. If you would please check your email for further information we will be able to see how we can help out. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you with this matter.
    SHS Social on June 26, 2019
  5. Excellent Service

    Overall rating

    see details
    We were very pleased with the technician. Excellent service
    COLUMBIA, MO
    May 21, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  6. Absolutely horrible experience.

    Overall rating

    see details
    This was absolutely the worst experience I think I have ever had as a consumer. It took 3 appointments to get fixed. Every appointment was originally scheduled for 8am to 5pm which is a joke to begin with. One the first day, the tech didn't even show. I called at 4:45pm and their auto-system told me my appointment had been moved to 5pm-7pm despite them not notifying me even though I was signed up for emails AND text alerts. When the tech got there, he was actually pretty ok, considering the aweful start. He ordered parts and we waited a week. The next appt was again reserved for 8am to 5pm but this time nobody showed up again. I called at 6:15pm and they said a tech would be dispatched and be there in 40 min. 2 hours later I called again and they said "I don't know why they told you a tech would be dispatched, we are still waiting on parts". Rescheduled for 2 days later. Tech got there (again, a ridiculous reservation time of 8am to 5pm which at this point clearly means nothing). Tech shows up and argues with me that he isn't putting all the parts in. I put him on speaker with the tech from the week before who told him he recommended replacing them all. New tech refused. I leave him to his work for 30 minutes and next time I talk to him, he says he decided to replace them all. I mean... are you kidding me? Do you have a clue what to do? To top it all off, the original quote was $330. In the end, Sears promised a $30 off inconvenience fee which they did NOT deliver and the techs charged a total of $450. AND, the tech asked me to throw out his trash b/c his "van was full". I will never, and I mean NEVER buy another thing from Sears or Kenmore again. But, I guess this is a good example of why they are going out of business.
    COLUMBIA, MO
    May 20, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    We apologize for the bad experience you had with us. We have sent you separately an email requesting additional information.
    SHS Social Care Team. on May 22, 2019
  7. Great service

    Overall rating

    see details
    Trevor fixed the dishwasher rack
    MARSHALL, MO
    April 22, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  8. Damage to refrig ☹️

    Overall rating

    see details
    Tool used to remove light switch, scratched refrigerator/tech had difficult time removing old switch/tried several times and few different tools to remove switch plate. Snapped in new switch without problems; scratches exposed/noticed around new light switch plate
    COLUMBIA, MO
    April 05, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    We're sorry that there were scratches left around the light switch. We have sent you a separate email requesting additional information.
    SHS Social Care Team on April 10, 2019
  9. Frustrated

    Overall rating

    see details
    There was no repair done. I have been waiting since July until the end of August for some kind of communication. Finally got a email saying I could get a replacement refrigerator. Hated having to talk to a foreign person about scheduling! Couldn't understand them. Frustrated that an appliance costing a fortune to me has so many problems in such a short time.
    VANDALIA, MO
    September 01, 2018
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We would love to take a look and see how we can help out with this. If you would please check your email for further information we will be able to see how we can help out with this. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you with this matter
    SHS Social on September 04, 2018
  10. Worst technician ever!!

    Overall rating

    see details
    Technician could barely speak English. But the worse part is that he LIED TO ME!!
    COLUMBIA, MO
    August 25, 2018
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We hate to see that you have had an experience like this and apologize for the inconvenience. We will be forwarding this information on to the proper channels for future improvements. We appreciate your business and hope to assist you in the future.
    SHS Social on August 27, 2018