Reading, PA repair reviews

All Reviews are from verified customers of Sears Home Services.
4.6 out of 5 stars

Sort by:
1–10 of 79 Reviews
  1. NEVER AGAIN

    Overall rating

    see details
    The repairman was fine. Professional and efficient. My complaint is with everyone I spoke to after initial service. I tried to schedule a follow up service based on the recommendation of my service man and spoke to a person who assured me the vents would be cleaned on Monday. No one called or showed up and when I called to inquire why, I was told there was no appointment. I had waited a week for this appointment and it could not be found. Frustrated and through with you.
    READING, PA
    June 21, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your business and will forward your comments to the appropriate team
    SHS Social Care Team on June 24, 2019
  2. Best experience

    Overall rating

    see details
    This guy knew his stuff and was great explaining! Would recommend to anyone.
    WYOMISSING, PA
    May 28, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  3. Great service!!

    Overall rating

    see details
    The technician was VERY professional and friendly. This is the second time I have the same tech and he was very helpful and explained every step of the process,
    SINKING SPG, PA
    April 30, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  4. Problem was NOT fixed.

    Overall rating

    see details
    Cabinet was not installed but the receipt said it was. They replaced my suspension rods but my original problem was my washer was leaving. My washer is STILL leaking.
    READING, PA
    December 29, 2018
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 1 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    We're sorry that your washer still leaks. We have sent you a separate email requesting additional information. Thanks!
    SHS Social Care Team on December 31, 2018
  5. Three Visits Later ....

    Overall rating

    see details
    Though I am satisfied that my drier is now working, the customer service between my initial call to SEARS and the final repair was poor, to be generous.
    WYOMISSING, PA
    December 21, 2018
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 1 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    We're sorry that you did not have a good experience with us. Thank you for the feedback and we will be working hard to improve.
    SHS Social Care on December 24, 2018
  6. Efficient but over-priced service

    Overall rating

    see details
    Friendly technician identified problem in 1 minute, and repaired it in another 10". Charge was agreed upon $90+ "diagnostic fee" AND $120 labor fee. That's excessive. Next time I will look for an alternative supplier before I automatically call Sears.
    WYOMISSING, PA
    November 10, 2018
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  7. Timely Professional Service

    Overall rating

    see details
    Everything was done professionally. I would use Sears Repair again.
    HAMBURG, PA
    August 18, 2018
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  8. Good service but too expensive

    Overall rating

    see details
    Service was good. Tech took only 30 minutes to repair, but labor cost was excessive. Will shop for alternative service company in the future. At least more communication should be made up front regarding the labor cost in addition to the diagnostic fee.
    READING, PA
    August 07, 2018
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  9. Fine service.

    Overall rating

    see details
    Did annual protection plan service on refrigerator- service was fine.
    MOHNTON, PA
    July 01, 2018
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  10. Mis-led no tune up

    Overall rating

    see details
    I looked up online for a hvac tune up and sears popped up. I was surprised they were still out there I had thought they went out of business anyway I clicked on schedule a maintenance and up pops a chat sessions This gentleman proceeded to tell me that the tune up would include all electrical and check the filter and the thermostats and fill any gas that needed filling I specifically asked him if he meant the coolant and he said yes and he gave me a price or 69.99 and scheduled it for that weds. All seemed to be ok until I got the phone call from the technician telling me he would be out to service my furnace I said furnace what furnace? He said you were heating furnace I said I don't have a heating furnace and I told him I had wanted service on my air conditioning unit HVAC system he said OK I'll be there in 10 minutes When he arrived he proceeded to tell me that what I was paying for was the service for my furnace in my attic I said it is a furnace in my attic? And he said that it is the part of the HVAC system that is in the attic and I said nobody explain that to me I was told you were coming up to service my air conditioner unit which to me is the one outside that you would put gas in it if it needed it and check the pressure and check the filter and check my thermost He proceeded to tell me that he would have to look and see how much that cost so I'm back to his truck and he made a phone call they came back from the truck he tell me the cost would be 49.99 and that would be for checking the front unit but anything else he had to do with cost me extra I showed him the chat session I had I showed him what the guy told me and he said the guy was wrong So he went out and start checking my front HVAC unit and proceeded to tell me that the pressure was low and then it was not cooling properly and it was not sucking properly and so I asked him why do I have to do to have the pressure up he said he asked to add coolant and I said how much does that cost he said about $90 a pound And I said so then how much pounds do you have to add and he said he would have to do it a little bit at a time and see how much it would take but it would cost me $280 for him to do it And I said what? Why does it cost 280.00that takes you a half hour to do he proceeded to tell me it was because he went to school and school was expensive and he was certified and getting certified as expensive and so I'm paying for his schooling his Certification and his knowledge I was surprised I cannot believe this Tech is telling me I had to pay for his schooling and his certifications and it was causing me 280 dollars for a half hour of his time So I told him no I cannot afford that and he proceeded to tell me that you keep an ion it and if I had any problems let them know He then asked me if he could see the inside furnace in the attic I was not prepared for that because the access panel is in my mother's closet it's been there for end it to this day nobody has ever complained about that until the day I was told by the technician that he could not open the panel and I had to get him a ladder to for the access panel So I went and got out of the access panel I open the access panel myself and then he complained that he had to climb up in there and he also took a picture of it so the other text coming out there would see it and he made the statement that no other check would do this My mother who was sitting there in her chair cannot believe what she was hearing Sadly I have to say this is one of the worst experiences I've had And my air-conditioner was never Tuned up
    SINKING SPG, PA
    June 30, 2018
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Hi! We're sorry that you had such a poor experience. I have sent you an email separately requesting additional information to see if I can be of assistance. Thanks
    SHS Social Care on July 02, 2018