Yorktown Heights, NY repair reviews

All Reviews are from verified customers of Sears Home Services.
3.9 out of 5 stars

Sort by:
1–10 of 256 Reviews
  1. Kenmore water heater

    Overall rating

    see details
    My water heater had a crack and the water was leaking downstairs into my dining room ceiling instead of into the drip pan. The technician asked us to get a plumber to determine what was going on because we had put drop cloths down and had garbage cans to catch the water. We called the plumber and they came the next day and found that the water leak was from the faulty water heater installed by Sears in 2011. The installer used a plastic seal with no glue, it was loose and the water had been dripping for a long time. The ceiling had collected so much water that it finally buckled. The plumber had to cut the ceiling open so the water could drain. They installed a new water heater. We contacted the insurance company and they sent a company to dry the ceiling for three days, and a contractor who will close/repair the ceiling. The Sears technician advised that Sears would determine whether they would authorize a new water heater and I would hear from someone within 24-72 hours. I'm still waiting. This is the problem when you work with service contracts. When you have an immediate need, you can't always get the service that you need. Had we not gone with the plumbers who replaced the water heater, we would still be waiting to hear from Sears with the ceiling still dripping and which would probably have collapsed by now. You are also at their mercy when they deal with 3rd party contractors. We have had these contracts for many years.
    PEEKSKILL, NY
    April 25, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  2. Great service

    Overall rating

    see details
    Service provider was very courteous and knowledgeable.
    OSSINING, NY
    March 06, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Hi Judy, thank you for taking the time to leave us your rating! We love to see that you had a good experience. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you in the future.
    SHS social care. on March 11, 2020
  3. Nobody came

    Overall rating

    see details
    Nobody came. I'm still waiting
    CARMEL, NY
    February 29, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Hi Rosa, thank you for taking the time to send your review. We sincerely apologize you had a no call no show. A member of our care team will contact you via email to assist you.
    SHS social care. on March 01, 2020
  4. Still no fixed, after the tech change the ice maker

    Overall rating

    see details
    We have many problems with the ice maker. Still no working
    PUTNAM VALLEY, NY
    February 27, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Hi Hector, thank you for taking the time to send your review. We sincerely apologize for your repair experience. A member of our care team will contact you via email to assist you.
    SHS social care. on February 27, 2020
  5. Dryer service was fine

    Overall rating

    see details
    Dryer service was fine. However, the reason I had them out was to repair my washing machine (under warranty) . I had them do the Dryer cleaning since they were there. I am very frustrated with the washing machine repair. They had to order 3 parts and 2 weeks later the last part is still on back order. Very frustrating. Our repairman himself, was pleasant, knowledgeable and courteous.
    OSSINING, NY
    February 06, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Hello Norma, we appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent service. We apologize that you are experiencing a repair delay due to a back-ordered part. Thank you for your patience.
    SHS Social Care on February 11, 2020
  6. Excellent care

    Overall rating

    see details
    Our service technician was thorough and caring.
    GARRISON, NY
    January 28, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Hi Molly, thank you for taking the time to leave us your rating! We love to see that you had a good experience. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you in the future
    SHS social care. on February 04, 2020
  7. Great service

    Overall rating

    see details
    Very happy with service technician, excellent
    YORKTOWN HTS, NY
    January 17, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  8. Service

    Overall rating

    see details
    They have been here 4 times in a month. My laundry room flooded after the third “so called fix”. So I don’t have too many positive things to say!
    OSSINING, NY
    December 16, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Hi Shelly, thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We sincerely apologize you did not have a good repair experience.
    SHS social care. on December 29, 2019
  9. Great service

    Overall rating

    see details
    Our technician knew what my problem was right away and took care of it
    PUTNAM VALLEY, NY
    December 05, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  10. Poor

    Overall rating

    see details
    Service person was good, Your scheduling for a so called preferred customer "Stinks" I had to wait 2 weeks for a service call for a hot water heater. You try living in the winter with no hot water. During our wait we had to repair it ourselves. So much for the extra $$$ for a service agreement. I had to take off of work and wait between the hours of 8 am 5 pm. Didn't show until 7:30 pm. Not his fault, is it because you are under staffed? Don't get their service agreement. You may be left out in the cold!
    YORKTOWN HTS, NY
    November 26, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse