Wilmington, DE repair reviews

All Reviews are from verified customers of Sears Home Services.
4.3 out of 5 stars

Sort by:
1–10 of 225 Reviews
  1. Great service by top-notch tech!

    Overall rating

    see details
    Reliable and knowledgeable service person.
    BEAR, DE
    July 13, 2021
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Dear Joane, Thank you for sharing your great rating! We thank you for choosing Sears and hope you recommend us to your friends and family.
    CS offline on July 13, 2021
  2. Fast Service

    Overall rating

    see details
    Great tech.
    WILMINGTON, DE
    March 03, 2021
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 1
    Report abuse
    Thank you so much for your 5-star rating! We are happy to see that you had a great experience. Thank you for your business!
    CS Offline on March 03, 2021
  3. Terrible experience, nothing resolved.

    Overall rating

    see details
    November 2020, I called the Sears repair services in DE to schedule a service. I explained to the lady who picked up the phone that there were some small scratches on my glass stovetop and asked whether they could send someone to repair it. She said yes and also said that the service is categorized as maintenance and not a repair because it is simple. First, she suggested scheduling the service on December 25, but I said I did not want the technician to have to work on Christmas Day, and then she scheduled the service for January 25, 2021, and said the technician would come between 1:00-5:00 PM. I asked about the cost of service, and the lady said $XX. On January 25, 2021, I received a reminder text about my appointment and an email in which my service was described as preventive maintenance. I called the Sears repair again; the same lady picked up the phone. I said that I wanted to double-check and make sure they understood what type of services I expected (polishing the small scratches), she said yes. The technician did not call me until 4:00 PM. When he called me, he said that he would arrive closer to 5:00 PM. I said it would be fine and asked him if he knew what type of service I expected: there were small scratches on the stovetop that needed to be polished. He said he did not know and said he would call me back. He called me back after 10 minutes and said he would come to take a look and see what he could do. He arrived around 4:40 PM. He had a polish kit with him. He took a look at the stove and said that he was not sure if polishing would work. He also called his boss a couple of times. He asked me how much I was told the service would be; I explained the lady on the phone who scheduled the service said $XX. He said that the $XX was only for the diagnosis. The service itself (polishing) would be $YY, and he would not know if it would work. I declined the service because it did not make sense to pay $ZZZ for something he was not sure could be done. He called his manager and said that I was declining the service. The Sears system did not allow him to cancel the $XX. SO I had to pay him basically for nothing. There was no diagnosis. Looking at a surface and seeing some scratches that I had told the operator about is not a diagnosis. I was given the wrong information by the woman who schedules the services and then had to pay $XX. The technician left the polishing kit and left. This a horrible way of treating customers. I sent a complaint to the Sears Customer service on the next day (Tuesday, Jan 26). Nobody has responded so far. According to the review guidelines, I cannot write the prices here.
    BEAR, DE
    January 28, 2021
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 1 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    HI MINA ,We apologize for the difficulties your recent service has caused. We would like the opportunity to look into this to see how we can better assist. Please email us at HomeServiceReviews@transformco.com and provide us with your full name, service address, and associated phone number. We look forward to hearing from you.
    cs offline on January 30, 2021
  4. Very careful and thorough repair.

    Overall rating

    see details
    Very careful and thorough repair.
    WILMINGTON, DE
    January 22, 2021
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Dear Greg!! Thank you so much for your 5-star rating! We are happy to see that you had a great experience. Thank you for your business!
    CS Offline on January 25, 2021
  5. Fixed

    Overall rating

    see details
    Not the cheapest service, fixed the issue quickly, I was surprised the tech didn’t offer to replace the lightbulb that was out inside the dryer.
    WILMINGTON, DE
    January 13, 2021
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Dear Michael,We are so pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We appreciate any and all feedback. Thank you for choosing Sears!
    CS offline on January 18, 2021
  6. Tech was was friendly

    Overall rating

    see details
    I did not like that I was told the 89.00 diagnostic fee will not go towards the repair bill. When I made the appt to get service, I was told if I got the repair done, that the 89.00 diagnostic fee goes towards the repair bill not added to the amount. I am filing a request for the return of the 89 diagnostic fee
    ELSMERE, DE
    January 04, 2021
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Dear Tom, thank you for taking the time to rate your most recent service with Sears. We are sorry to hear you did not have the service experience expected. We appreciate any and all feedback from our members and will share your experience with our Service team.
    CS OFFLINE on January 07, 2021
  7. Job completed but attending tech was mouthy

    Overall rating

    see details
    No complaints about quality of the work. However, the tech started off by saying that the part he was there to install was not the right one before confirming that this was indeed the case (it was the right part). Then, when I gave him the reason for the repair (panel between the fridge and freezer was overheating due to busted compressor fan), he kept insisting that it was normal for the central panel to heat up. I appreciate friendly chatter but found this unnecessarily argumentative.
    NEWARK, DE
    December 14, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Dear Guatlian, {{Member name}}, thank you for taking the time to rate your most recent service with Sears. We are sorry to hear you did not have the service experience expected. We appreciate any and all feedback from our members and will share your experience with our Service team
    CS offline on December 15, 2020
  8. Friendly efficient service!

    Overall rating

    see details
    Sears Home Improvement is one of of the better service providers out there - we have not been disappointed each time we called on Sears and the job on our water heater was no different.
    NEWARK, DE
    October 15, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    HI GUATALIAN ,We are so pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We appreciate any and all feedback. Thank you for choosing Sears!
    cs offline on October 16, 2020
  9. Great service and friendly to boot!

    Overall rating

    see details
    The technicians arrived later in the day but still within the window they were supposed to arrive, than we would have liked. Ultimately, this made no difference as they completed the work in good time. John, the technician who oversaw the work, was friendly and informed us about Sears' services and offers in non-coercive way which was much appreciated.
    NEWARK, DE
    October 15, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Hi GUATALIAN, Thank you so much for your 5-star rating! We are happy to see that you had a great experience. Thank you for your business!
    CS Offline on October 16, 2020
  10. great service

    Overall rating

    see details
    Best technican
    WILMINGTON, DE
    September 28, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your rating. We love to see that you had a wonderful experience and that your Technician was able to provide you with the quality service we strive for daily. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you in the future.
    CS Offline on September 29, 2020