Antioch, CA repair reviews

All Reviews are from verified customers of Sears Home Services.
4.1 out of 5 stars

Sort by:
1–10 of 142 Reviews
  1. Didn't fix the problem

    Overall rating

    see details
    Even though the tech was very nice she said she could not fix the problem because it could not be replicated. So now I have to video the problem and wait till I can get another appointment.
    BRENTWOOD, CA
    August 04, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 1 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  2. Still without a working washing machine!

    Overall rating

    see details
    Yesterday marked the 4th failed attempt by Sears Home Repair Service to properly service and/or repair our 2011 Kenmore (587-12) top load washer. Our original problems were noise during agitation cycle then a failure to start (wash cycle). Washing machine was purchased at Sears on 09/17/2011 so we called you for repair service. 07/15/2019 service call #1 scheduled. 07/16: “Nick” arrived shortly after 1pm, calibrated and inspected machine. We were informed his findings for both the failure to start and noise heard were due to a "bad motor.” Motor would need to be replaced. Nick did not have a top load (TL) motor on his person and the wait time for ordering the new part would be in upwards of 10 days. Nick then informed us he did however have a motor for a front loading FL machine on his person which he could modify and the repair could be done immediately. In the interest of no additional wait time we chose to have the modified FL motor installed at a total cost of $365.00 (incl. inspection/parts/labor). To help ease some of our repair costs Nick informed us of the Home Warranty program and their offer of 50% off our repair cost that day if we signed up. We purchased the home warranty coverage and paid our first monthly premium of $49.99. Upon leaving Nick again ran calibration and successfully started a wash cycle. Although he did not a run a complete cycle he did assure us that the noise previously heard during agitation would be gone now that a new motor had been installed. That evening we ran a complete wash cycle and realized the noise heard during agitation was still continuing. 07/16/2019 service call #2 scheduled. 7/18: Sears repair tech “David” arrived at 5:20PM (Note: the scheduled window time given was between 1PM & 5PM). We informed David of our 7/16 service call and the replacement of motor. Stating further that the noise heard during agitation however was continuing (David was shown a cell phone video recording of noise taken by homeowner). David immediately stated it was likely the result of the improper installation of the new motor. Knowing otherwise we informed David that the noise was heard prior to installation of the new motor and one of our original problems. Still David insisted and “secured” the motor. He then attempted to begin a wash cycle however several minutes into cycle we (homeowners) became concerned; pointing out to tech that the drum was filling well beyond it’s normal water level. Now being brought to his attention David agreed and machine was shut off. Lid was opened and water had in fact filled the entire drum. David stated we now likely had a whole new problem on our hands- a fill sensor failure. Part would take 5-7 days to arrive so there we were again without a working machine (or knowing if noise had been fixed) and with a whole new problem. Part arrived and service call #3 scheduled. 7/26: David arrived, installed new sensor. Wash cycle was started however water continued to overfill drum. Unsure of what now was causing the malfunction David then informed us there was a possibility he could not fix our machine and that Kenmore (or other independent contractor) may need to be contacted however he would first “speak to his boss.” After speaking to his superior it was apparently decided that an entirely new computer panel should be installed and so it was ordered. Wait time 5 days. Service call #4 scheduled. 7/31: David arrives and installs the new computer panel. Starts cycle but water continues to overfill drum. It now becomes very apparent to us that tech cannot/ is not capable of determining the proper repair of our machine, stating “perhaps it (is) the hose but not sure.” That he “may have the hose/know where to get part” and that he would be in “touch with us the following day.” 8/1/19 4:00PM- No word yet from David or Sears either for that matter- other than the multiple emails for service reminders and this “Rate Your Service” questionnaire. What about Sears’ promise to repair/seek independent contractor help or replace? And why must I wait several weeks for my home warranty coverage to become effective? Even car insurance offers immediate protection/coverage upon payment of first premium. As a result of all of this I give Sears Home Repair a 1 star rating. We are very unsatisfied with your repair service and still without a working washing machine.
    ANTIOCH, CA
    August 01, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 1 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  3. Outstanding!

    Overall rating

    see details
    Very knowledgeable technician. Parts availability is outstanding. He carries a lot of parts on his van, my fridge issue was a compressor. It was fixed within 2 hours same day. Excellent service.
    ANTIOCH, CA
    July 29, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  4. Great service

    Overall rating

    see details
    The men were courteous and got the repairs done
    LIVERMORE, CA
    July 28, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  5. Great service very friendly

    Overall rating

    see details
    Great service but they need to carry parts on call so we don't have to wait for return service and wait times are unnaceptable!
    ANTIOCH, CA
    July 15, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  6. good

    Overall rating

    see details
    Good Work!
    ANTIOCH, CA
    July 13, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  7. Average service. Had to tell him to pull refrigerator out and clean behind

    Overall rating

    see details
    I have used Sears At Home for many years. Not enough attention to doing a goo job this trip. Borrowed my vacuum cleaner and then left it in the garage instead of bringing it back in the house. I was not happy!
    ANTIOCH, CA
    July 13, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  8. great service

    Overall rating

    see details
    arrived on time< promptly went to work and found problem. not worth fixing (cost) so we ordered a new one
    ANTIOCH, CA
    July 06, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  9. Great Service

    Overall rating

    see details
    The service person was very good at what he did. Got to the problem and solved it right away.
    LIVERMORE, CA
    June 30, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  10. The technicians work hard

    Overall rating

    see details
    The poor rating is not for the technician who came to do the work. It’s for the fact our new fridge has broken so many times and the customer service doesn’t do anything. 3 weeks without a fridge and not the first time. Since we bought this elite it has broken so often. The technician who came out second to last was rude and not on time.
    PITTSBURG, CA
    June 25, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse