Alexandria, VA repair reviews

All Reviews are from verified customers of Sears Home Services.
4.3 out of 5 stars

Sort by:
1–10 of 554 Reviews
  1. They didn’t do anything

    Overall rating

    see details
    He came in, looked in the dishwasher, ask if it was cleaning the dishes and left. Note: his primary job was to troubleshoot the refrigerator
    LORTON, VA
    January 17, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 1 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  2. sked for 1-5 pm slot....did not show up!! Resked after my phne call after 6pm.. Showed up on time this time

    Overall rating

    see details
    Tech was polite and professional
    SPRINGFIELD, VA
    January 13, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  3. Good service

    Overall rating

    see details
    Did a good job
    WOODBRIDGE, VA
    January 13, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  4. Sears Refrigeration service

    Overall rating

    see details
    I used them this week and happy I did.
    SPRINGFIELD, VA
    January 10, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  5. Very helpful

    Overall rating

    see details
    Found the problem and gave advice on correct solution. We did go ahead and buy a new washer.
    ALEXANDRIA, VA
    January 09, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  6. Timely

    Overall rating

    see details
    He was on time and fixed the problem after I identified it for him. Charged me $208 for 5 minute fix because he “repaired” the problem. Re-attached a clip that had come loose.
    ALEXANDRIA, VA
    January 06, 2020
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  7. Excellent service

    Overall rating

    see details
    I am so happy to do business with sears
    SPRINGFIELD, VA
    December 31, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  8. Thanks Mohammad for getting the oven working before Christmas

    Overall rating

    see details
    Although it took a long time to get the part Mohammad was able to get it in on December 24 instead of December 27, when it was scheduled. Thanks very much.
    DUMFRIES, VA
    December 28, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  9. Great service

    Overall rating

    see details
    Arrived as scheduled. Diagnosed and resolved issue. No further problems with heater
    DALE CITY, VA
    December 27, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
  10. Yet Another Bad Experience

    Overall rating

    see details
    Unfortunately, I've had to use SHS for my Kenmore Elite Wall Oven/Microwave Combo unit on multiple occasions, and continually have the same issue (they are the only company I can find that will service this brand, which is owned by Sears). My most recent appointment, I called in and they took my name and phone number and were able to find my purchase (I bought from Sears). I offered to confirm the part number, because in the past they had to make 3 separate trips because the technicians expected a microwave or an oven, but not a combo (despite having the original purchase information). Again, the person taking the phone call said it wasn't necessary, they had me down to service the combo unit and the diagnostic fee was said to be X. From my previous experience, I knew I had to remove the unit from the wall so the technician could access the side panels for diagnosis, so I did (not a trivial amount of effort). When the technician was on his way to my home, he called and asked me what type of problem I was having. When I explained, he advised me the diagnostic fee is actually 2.5X because the fee I was originally quoted was for an oven, not a microwave. He arrived at my house, took one look at the unit and said something to the effect of "Oh no, not one of these. These are the worst units ever made. Servicing them isn't worth it, just buy a new one." I advised him I was selling the house and that really wasn't an option, I need an official write up and quote to get it repaired. He immediately advises he'll need to replace the magnetron, switches, and a host of other systems, and even then it may not function properly. I asked how he derived that the magnetron was a fault, given the symptoms I had (intermittent heating) it seemed unlikely to me that the magnetron was the problem, but rather the door switches were likely at fault (based on my research). He agreed. He then advises me that performing diagnostics is "very difficult" and requires him to take a lot of the unit apart. I respond something to the effect of "Yes, that is why you are here". He then tells me to get him a cup of cold water, and proceeds to show me that if I simply slam the door shut, it heats every time. This turned out to be true, repeated attempts slaming the door shut always heated the water, however allowing the door to shut naturally did not. He then tells me I'll have to pay the diagnostic fee (2.5X what I was originally quoted). I refused, citing a lack of diagnostics, putting a cup of water in a microwave and turning it on is not diagnostics. I wanted to see a multi-meter testing the various components to identify what was faulty, and for the fee they were charging I expected that to happen. I refused to pay the diagnostics fee, telling him he could collect the fee once I saw him perform diagnostics. Ultimately, he did not want to open my unit up and I didn't want to pay the 2.5X until he did, so I asked him to get a manager on the phone. At this time, he asked if I would just pay the originally quoted fee of X. In my case (selling a house from out of town), this was the best option, I simply made the payment and then provided a credit to the new homeowners to replace the unit altogether. But this experience was right on par with previous experiences I've had with SHS, I would ONLY recommend using them as a last resort (i.e. you made the mistake of buying a Sears branded Kenmore Elite device that nobody else will touch). Best of luck to anyone stuck in that situation, do your own research before they come.
    SPRINGFIELD, VA
    December 24, 2019
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes · 0 | No · 0
    Report abuse
    Hi Ryan, thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. We apologize for your repair experience. A member of our care team will contact you via email, to assist you further.
    SHS social care. on January 15, 2020